Army life, wow.  There should be a special diagnosis for those experiencing a typical military life.  The Boss has been gone for almost two weeks, and honesty, it’s been Hell.  It’s not that “The Boss” is around that often when he is home, but his absence leaves a yawning black hole that sucks in all good behavior. To quote the battalion commander’s wife, “It’s partly chemical.  We should invent a testosterone candle for future deployments.”

It’s not just me.  The remaining 3/4 of the neighborhood (after all the guys left) has gone loopy as well.  One neighbor complained to me that she was just diagnosed with atypical depression at visit to her doctor.  She went in for a prescription for diet pills and came out with one for an anti-depressant.  She screeched, “The problem isn’t me!  It’s my kids!  They are abusing me!”    

Another mom said she almost called CPS on herself.  And she’s already been through six deployments. 

Today,  Agent J told the teacher he wasn’t going to work, so she sent all his work home.  She sent home an entire day’s worth of work, after eight hours of school.  After helping J write the numbers 1-100, the alphabet (thrice), practice sight words, and add rubber duckies I decided I am not going to be crazy any more.  In fact, maybe I’ll get a cue from J and just stop working.  Tanning in a bikini in the backyard while reading some comic books sounds much better than getting mad and making J sadder than he already is. 

Honestly, the worst part about military separation is the kid’s reactions.  I heard J in the backyard screaming at the cargo planes flying overhead to “bring daddy back!”  When the planes kept flying, the poor kid would yell, “Bye, Daddy!!!”     

It’s not all bad.  It’s a chance to get stuff done alone and eat better food.  I’ve already redone the hallway walls and destroyed the bathroom.  It’s a good thing we have homeowner’s insurance.  Anyhow.  Two more weeks of this, then the “daddy’s home adjustment,” then a long overseas deployment.  I’d love to find that fine line between emotionally numb and still feeling, but it’s probably somewhere between the top and the bottom of a bottle of wine.